Slaughter, Pettigrew garner more postseason honors

Western’s basketball season may be over, but the Toppers can at least do some celebrating.

The National Association of Basketball Coaches announced Tuesday that senior guard A.J. Slaughter and junior forward Steffphon Pettigrew were named to the NABC’s 2010 All-District 24 team.

Slaughter and Pettigrew’s names will now go on the ballot for All-American honors, announced on April 3 from Indianapolis — the site of the 2010 Final Four.

Slaughter was named to the District 24’s first team last season too, joining former Toppers Craig McCormick and Courtney Lee as the only Western players to do so two seasons in a row.

Brandon Hazzard, Troy (Sr., G)
Tyren Johnson, Louisiana-Lafayette (Sr., F)
Nate Rohnert, Denver (Sr., G/F)
AJ Slaughter, WKU (Sr., G)
Desmond Yates, Middle Tennessee (Sr., F)

Greg Gantt, Florida Atlantic (Fr., G)
George Odufuwa, North Texas (Jr., F)
Steffphon Pettigrew, WKU (Jr., F)
Brandon Reed, Arkansas State (Fr., G)
Tim Williams, South Alabama (Jr., G)

Jonathan Lintner


Leave a comment

Filed under Men's Basketball

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s